"There is nothing more difficult to take in hand, more perilous to conduct, or more uncertain in its success, than to take the lead in the introduction of a new order of things."

~ Niccolo Machiavelli, historian and writer

Tuesday, May 1, 2012

Overwhelmed and Underpaid

I am just passing along this email received from the Halifax Association for Community Living.

Because it's a very important issue.
Hi Families and Friends,

One more email before I get out of your hair today! This story is about Toronto, where the waitlist is 8 months for housing. This is our story in NS and even worse. The housing options issue is of monumental proportions with 650 people on the waitlist in Nova Scotia, and a 4 to 5 year wait. The comments on this news story are very telling as well.

You may want to forward this on to your MLA, the premier, the party leaders and the minister of Community services, and share your story as well. I will list the emails for these people:

Percy Paris NDP Waverley-Fall River-Beaver Bank percy@percyparis.ca

David Wilson NDP Sackville-Cobequid dave@davidawilsonmla.ca

Keith Colwell Liberal Preston colwelkw@gov.ns.ca

Michèle Raymond NDP Halifax Atlantic mhraymondmla@eastlink.ca

Howard Epstein NDP Halifax Chebucto hepstein@ns.aliantzinc.ca

Leonard Preyra NDP Halifax Citadel-Sable Island preyra@eastlink.ca

Diana Whalen Liberal Halifax Clayton Park whalendc@gov.ns.ca

Graham Steele NDP Halifax Fairview graham@grahamsteele.ca

Maureen MacDonald NDP Halifax Needham mmacdonald@navnet.net

Mat Whynott NDP Hammonds Plains - Upper Sackville mat.mla@ns.sympatico.ca

Andrew Younger Liberal Dartmouth East info@andrewyounger.ca

Trevor Zinck Independent Dartmouth North tzinck@ns.aliantzinc.ca

Marilyn More NDP Dartmouth South - Portland Valley marilynmoremla@ns.aliantzinc.ca

Darrell Dexter NDP Cole Harbour ddexter.mla@gmail.com; premier@gov.ns.ca

Becky Kent NDP Cole Harbour-Eastern Passage kentbj@gov.ns.ca

Kelly Regan Liberal Bedford-Birch Cove kelly@kellyregan.ca

Denise Peterson-Rafuse Minister of Community Services DCSMIN@gov.ns.ca

Take care,

Yvette Cherry
Halifax Association for Community Living
Family Support Facilitator
www.halifaxacl.com
463-4752 Ext.2

HACL Mission Statement
“We believe that all people should be accepted as responsible, contributing members of their family and society.”

No comments: